Nancy Pelosi on the non-binding resolution:

Today we set the stage for a new direction [ed: talking points code words] on Iraq by passing a resolution with fewer than one hundred words [ed: look! we didn’t bloviate!] which supports our troops and disapproves of the President’s escalation proposal. [ed: not that we’re actually doing anything at all – not that the “escalation” isn’t already underway – not that Sadr hasn’t already fled…]

transcribed off Fox News

A child has two parents.

Parent One and Parent Two both say that they want to support their child in his/her endeavors.

The child wants to be a concert pianist and actually has the talent to become one.

Parent One listens to what the child wants, knows that talent for that exists, and supports the child.

Parent Two doesn’t listen to the child and wants the child to be a running back for a professional football team. Never mind that the child is slightly small for his age and has absolutely no interest in professional football. The child isn’t even interested in watching on TV. Parent Two says that Parent Two will support the child. Parent Two, however, will really offer full support to the child only if the child does what Parent Two wants the child to do.

This is similar to what is happening with the Congress today. They are busy debating and voting on non-binding resolutions to “support the troops” and disapprove everything else. But they don’t listen to the troops who want to successfully complete their mission. Nancy Pelosi says she supports the troops. She should listen to the troops and support what they want, not what she thinks they want or what would be “best” for them.

Even if the child in the above hypothetical had the build and talent to be either a running back or a concert pianist, it’s really what the child wants that should be supported by the parents. If that same child wants to be a running back then Parent One should support that, even if Parent One’s dream is to have a child who is a concert pianist.

We do, however, have to mention support for a child’s dreams and wishes that have no basis in reality. The best support in that case is to let the child know.

I sing, but no one wants to hear me. My mother, Bless her heart, told me that I have absolutely no talent for singing. As a result, I have not auditioned for American Idol and I have not been humiliated on national TV.

If my dream to be a singer had been stronger, maybe I would have taken music classes, learned to control my voice, learned to hear myself as others hear me, and perhaps, just perhaps, I could have been a singer. Mom would have supported me with that I am sure.

Note to Congress: Listen to the troops. Ask what they need in way of support. Do that. That’s what supporting the troops is all about. Support what they want, not what you want.

